Notice: This is the official website of the All Empires History Community (Reg. 10 Feb 2002)

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Favourite Roman authors?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
zeno View Drop Down
Knight
Knight

Online Status: Offline
  Quote zeno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Favourite Roman authors?
    Posted: 05-May-2007 at 11:52

Suetonius, Petronius and Juvenal

my passion for the ancient world is relatively new (i'm doing a Masters on Roman myths this year), and i'm interested in what kinds of Roman literature are popular these days
Byzantine Emperor View Drop Down
Arch Duke
Arch Duke
Kastrophylax kai Tzaousios

Quote Byzantine Emperor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05-May-2007 at 12:06
Originally posted by zeno

Suetonius, Petronius and Juvenal
my passion for the ancient world is relatively new (i'm doing a Masters on Roman myths this year), and i'm interested in what kinds of Roman literature are popular these days

Welcome to AE zeno!

It is good to see that you are involved in the Classics.  As an undergraduate I was a history and Classics double major.  For my MA now I am doing history, although my work with Byzantium does involve the Classics at almost every turn.

Suetonius is good.  I am primarily interested in the work of the Roman historians and chroniclers, and later in time period.  One of my favorites is Ammianus Marcellinus, who wrote about the reign of Julian and his immediate predecessors.  Vegetius is good too, for his military treatise.

zeno View Drop Down
Knight
Knight

Quote zeno Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05-May-2007 at 14:07
ok, which emperors/events do Marcellinus and Vegetius cover?
Constantine XI View Drop Down
Suspended
Suspended

Suspended

Quote Constantine XI Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06-May-2007 at 01:11